young second generation Indian in the US was asked by his mother to explain the significance of "Diwali" to his younger brother, this is how he went about it...
" So, like this dude had, like, a big cool kingdom and people liked him. But, like, his step-mom, or something, was kind of a bitch, and she forced her husband to, like, send this cool-dude, he was Ram, to some national forest or something... . Since he was going, for like, something like more than 10 years or so.... he decided to get his wife and his bro along... you know...so that they could all chill out together. But Dude, the forest was reeeeal scary shit... really man...they had monkeys and devil s and shit like that. But this dude, Ram, kicked with darts and bows and arrows... so it was fine.
But then some bad gangsta boys, some jerk called Ravan, picks up his babe (Sita) and lures her away to his hood. And boy, was our man, and also his bro, Laxman, pissed... all the gods were with him... So anyways, you don't mess with gods. So, Ram, and his bro get an army of monkeys... Dude, don't ask me how they trained the damn monkeys... just go along with me, ok...
So, Ram, Lax and their monkeys whip this gangsta's ass in his own hood.... Anyways, by this time, their time's up in the forest... and anyways... it gets kinda boring, you know... no TV or malls or shit like that. So, they decided to hitch a ride back home... and when the people realize that our dude, his bro and the wife are back home... they thought, well, you know, at least they deserve something nice... and they didn't have any bars or clubs in those days... so they couldn't take them out for a drink, so they, like, decided to smoke and shit... and since they also had some lamps, they lit the lamps also...so it was pretty cooool... you know with all those fireworks... . Really, they even had some local band play along with the fireworks... and you know, what, dude, that was the very first, no kidding.., that was the very first music-synchronized fireworks... you know, like the 4th of July stuff, but just, more cooler and stuff, you know. And, so dude,
that was how, like, this festival started."
The mother fainted..
-A fwd that I really liked ;)
Thursday, 15 April 2010
Sunday, 7 June 2009
Is religion to be blamed?
Here is a thing which one of my close friends asked me recently. From then on, I have been thinking about it and I never got a clear answer yet.
It's about the male dominance/superiority in our society.
Why is the Hindu religion (lets get to other religions later) totally biased towards males?
- Male gods are visibly dominant.
- Males gods generally have many wives - murugan, balaji, krishna
Religion mostly influences a society. I know guys feel its demeaning to call another guy a girl (machi, enda ponnu maadhiri irukka ??). Biologically, females are far more sophisticated than males.
Is it OK to blame religion (is there anything to blame??) ??
We all need these answers when we explain religion to our kids in the near future.
It's about the male dominance/superiority in our society.
Why is the Hindu religion (lets get to other religions later) totally biased towards males?
- Male gods are visibly dominant.
- Males gods generally have many wives - murugan, balaji, krishna
Religion mostly influences a society. I know guys feel its demeaning to call another guy a girl (machi, enda ponnu maadhiri irukka ??). Biologically, females are far more sophisticated than males.
Is it OK to blame religion (is there anything to blame??) ??
We all need these answers when we explain religion to our kids in the near future.
Saturday, 6 June 2009
Penn ondru kanden..
HER: Bajji saapidunga.
HIM: hmm thanks..
HER: Neenga yen mottai potu irukkinga? Athuvum ponnu parka varum bodhu?
HIM: hehe(adadaaa... mottai potadhey ethachum ponnu ushar aaganum nu venduthal daney)
HER: Chumma sollunga..
HIM: Oru long pending venduthal irunduchu.. (shabba.. careful da maapla)
HER: Oh apdiya.. Seri coffee eduthukonga
HIM: Ya thanks.
The hero speaks nothing after that. Everyone goes home. Hero calls his friends!
HIM: Machi naan ponnu pathutu vanduten da
FRIENDS: Wow super mamu how's she?
HIM: She's a calm gal i think da.
FRIENDS: You think? K where is she from?
HIM: Namma area dan da.
FRIENDS: Oh is it? Endha school la padichalaam da? Kandipa namakku therinji irukkum.
HIM: Amaam la? Cha naan ketka maranduten da.
FRIENDS: Hmm endha college?
HIM: Aiyo athayum ketkaliye!!
FRIENDS: Seri da anga enna saapta?
HIM: Bajji saapten da.. rendu urulai kizhangu bajji.. apram moonu onion ones.. then coffee.
FRIENDS: Hmm.. Andha coffee filter coffee-ya da?
HIM: Amam da filter coffee dan. Romba nalla irunduchu. Leo coffee-yam. Ketu therinjikiten.
FRIENDS: Ponnu endha school la padicha nu ketkala.. endha college la padicha nu ketkala.. aana bajji mattum variety-a ketu vangi thinnu irukka.. And coffee-oda make-a visarichu irukka. Unaku epdi da andha ponnu ok sollichu? Athuvum afternoon veyil-la unnoda mottai thalai-oda ponnu parka poyirukka. Namma gang-u key nee oru avamanam da!
HIM: hehe.. engagement ku apram athellam ketu therinjipen da!
FRIENDS: ??!!???!!!!
This is the exact conversation with one of my good friends by name Senthil. This is how he made to the occasion of his "ponnu pakara ceremony" :). More surprising is the fact that his marriage got fixed with her ;). The fellow is getting engaged! Kadaisi varai veetla "nalla pulla" image-a maintain pannitaan. Hearty congrats da Senthil.Atleast after the engagement, do ask her those questions and let us know the answers :)
HIM: hmm thanks..
HER: Neenga yen mottai potu irukkinga? Athuvum ponnu parka varum bodhu?
HIM: hehe(adadaaa... mottai potadhey ethachum ponnu ushar aaganum nu venduthal daney)
HER: Chumma sollunga..
HIM: Oru long pending venduthal irunduchu.. (shabba.. careful da maapla)
HER: Oh apdiya.. Seri coffee eduthukonga
HIM: Ya thanks.
The hero speaks nothing after that. Everyone goes home. Hero calls his friends!
HIM: Machi naan ponnu pathutu vanduten da
FRIENDS: Wow super mamu how's she?
HIM: She's a calm gal i think da.
FRIENDS: You think? K where is she from?
HIM: Namma area dan da.
FRIENDS: Oh is it? Endha school la padichalaam da? Kandipa namakku therinji irukkum.
HIM: Amaam la? Cha naan ketka maranduten da.
FRIENDS: Hmm endha college?
HIM: Aiyo athayum ketkaliye!!
FRIENDS: Seri da anga enna saapta?
HIM: Bajji saapten da.. rendu urulai kizhangu bajji.. apram moonu onion ones.. then coffee.
FRIENDS: Hmm.. Andha coffee filter coffee-ya da?
HIM: Amam da filter coffee dan. Romba nalla irunduchu. Leo coffee-yam. Ketu therinjikiten.
FRIENDS: Ponnu endha school la padicha nu ketkala.. endha college la padicha nu ketkala.. aana bajji mattum variety-a ketu vangi thinnu irukka.. And coffee-oda make-a visarichu irukka. Unaku epdi da andha ponnu ok sollichu? Athuvum afternoon veyil-la unnoda mottai thalai-oda ponnu parka poyirukka. Namma gang-u key nee oru avamanam da!
HIM: hehe.. engagement ku apram athellam ketu therinjipen da!
FRIENDS: ??!!???!!!!
This is the exact conversation with one of my good friends by name Senthil. This is how he made to the occasion of his "ponnu pakara ceremony" :). More surprising is the fact that his marriage got fixed with her ;). The fellow is getting engaged! Kadaisi varai veetla "nalla pulla" image-a maintain pannitaan. Hearty congrats da Senthil.Atleast after the engagement, do ask her those questions and let us know the answers :)
Hmm.. hard it is!!
The thought of arranged marriages - Till say a month back, I didn't really know how hard it is to find a "proper" match out of nowhere. But now I got to see the confusion/trauma my friend's parents are undergoing. You might think I'm exaggerating.. but trust me.. arranged marriages are not a piece of cake. That too when you're away from your parents in an alien nation. First you should like the person by seeing a photo! If that goes well, then comes the "horoscope" match. If that also goes well, then they exchange email id's to start a conversation and get to know each other. And oh my god!!! This becomes the most difficult part. You should ask the correct questions and comprehend the answers correctly so that you can judge if the person is fit to be your life partner. Oooph... Kadi it is.. And sometimes we like the person's background, studies, family, looks, everything.. but the horoscopes are not atleast 9/10. And your parents reject that alliance and ask you to show interest on some other profile.. Shabbaaa.. mudiyala... The process goes on. And there are guys who want "everything" to be perfect even before he says yes to the proposal. Like he wants the bride to acquire a visa to the country where he works. And get a transfer from her current company so that she can start working in the same company but from the country where he lives. i.e he's not even ready to give the liberty of quitting the current job and searching for a new one in his so called "living" country. And you know why? He says he lives abroad and cant "waste" a vacation to come and see a gal before he's 100% confident that she's the one! But isn't he supposed to give it a try? How can one be 100% satisfied before seeing each other in person? A little bit of compromise is necessary isn't it?
Seeing my friend going through all this, I'm awed at the way arranged marriages happened during our parents' generation.. phew.. god save us! Such a trouble this is..
Now my mind is filled with so many questions.. How can you judge a person by just seeing a photo? What are you supposed to expect? What questions are you supposed to ask? Are all guys in abroad so stupid that they ask you to file a H1B even before saying yes to your proposal? Or is it just that my friend's luck is so bad that she ends up getting proposals from such jerks in bharathmatrimony site? And what is the right amount of time that you can take to decide if the person is a good match for you? 1 week? 1 month? Onnumey puriyala pa indha system pathi enakku.. But it's so scary!
My first post itself is an emotional out break I suppose ;). Hoping to think of a better topic the next time I try to blog.. hehe
Seeing my friend going through all this, I'm awed at the way arranged marriages happened during our parents' generation.. phew.. god save us! Such a trouble this is..
Now my mind is filled with so many questions.. How can you judge a person by just seeing a photo? What are you supposed to expect? What questions are you supposed to ask? Are all guys in abroad so stupid that they ask you to file a H1B even before saying yes to your proposal? Or is it just that my friend's luck is so bad that she ends up getting proposals from such jerks in bharathmatrimony site? And what is the right amount of time that you can take to decide if the person is a good match for you? 1 week? 1 month? Onnumey puriyala pa indha system pathi enakku.. But it's so scary!
My first post itself is an emotional out break I suppose ;). Hoping to think of a better topic the next time I try to blog.. hehe
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
